Why don’t you…

“Why don’t you become a photographer?”

“Why don’t you sell the things you sew?”

I hear these two questions all the time. ALL THE TIME. And I’m going to answer them right now for y’all.

I LOVE TO SEW, CRAFT AND TAKE PICTURES. And I want to continue to love to do them.

I don’t want to be beholden to what others want. I don’t want to be responsible for someone else’s memories because I’m being paid to be. I don’t want to run another business.

I have thought about it. I think about it a lot. It’s hard not to when folks are constantly telling you you should. It’s quite the ego booster to hear that you’re good at something. And that people think you’re good enough to sell what you have. But just because you are, doesn’t mean you have to, or should. I’d probably love it. Right up until I had to deal with that one customer who hated what I’d done. I’ve been in customer service long enough to know that those folks are out there, and I’m done dealing with them.

I do want to continue to sew and craft for the pure joy of it. For the enjoyment of creating something out of nothing. I want to continue to photograph my children, and my friends’ children, and things I think are cool because I love it. I would love to do commercial photography; photographing children’s products. But I have a long way to go and a lot to learn before I can think of that. I’d love to become a birth doula and photograph the births I attend. I can’t imagine anything more special than photographing the moments of transition  into parenthood. I’d love to teach independent childbirth education classes and become a prenatal/postpartum yoga instructor.

And, so, no. I’m not going to sell my sewn or crafted items (not in any large scale, shop opening way). I’m not going to sell photography services. I’m just going to keep loving my art for what it is. Art and passion and something that fills me up.

3 thoughts on “Why don’t you…

  1. You can always help me with my product photography just for fun! I’m no where near as good at it as you are! But then again, I also have a toddler and baby at my heels while I’m trying to do it! 😉

  2. I completely agree with you. I was once paid as a photojournalist (wow, hard to believe how long ago…) but it became a process over an art in the long run. When fun was eliminated and it became work… my creativity started lacking. There is something special about impromptu / in the moment inspiration that throws you into the zone. That is where amazing craft lives, IMO.

  3. Alan hears this all the time about sewing. He puts it well, if he were to sew for someone else, it takes the pleasure out of it. He also points out, that if he truly charged what his time was worth for said sewn item, no one could afford it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

