Struck

I am often struck by the difference between my girls, but up to now I’ve mostly been comparing Ryan to Finleigh at a particular age.*

But the other day, I was sitting on the couch, working on learning to read with Ryan while Finleigh played on the floor (she tries to eat all books right now, so she couldn’t be on the couch with us). I heard Fin squawking, and looked down over the book I was reading with Ryan to see Finleigh army crawling all over the floor chasing one of cups that kept rolling this way and that.

And it struck me. While one child is learning to read, the other is learning to move.

My girls will NEVER be at the same place at the same time. Not during childhood, in any case. And instead of being a little sad about that, I’m going to choose to celebrate it.

As Ryan learns to read and write, she’ll be able to read stories to Finleigh, and write down the things she says (once she starts speaking). As Finleigh becomes more mobile, they’ll play chase and hide and seek. Fin will try to “share” Ryan’s clothes and toys (even as teenagers, I’m guessing) and Ryan will be annoyed at her little sister who’s always in her things.

Fin worships Ryan and Ryan adores Finleigh, and the large age gap between the two of them will only strengthen that. One hopes, anyway.

*Yes, I compare my kids. I dare you to say you don’t.

2 thoughts on “Struck

  1. I love the way you write Katy.. You say all of the things I think but can’t put into words.. Thank-you for that!
    Of course every parent compares differences between their children, how can you not, its natural.. xo

  2. If I didn’t compare and contrast my children at times, I’d miss out on identifying and celebrating those characteristics that make them such amazing individuals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

