CrockPot Mac and Cheese

No joke. Mac and cheese in the crock pot, and it was super delicious!!

1 lb package of pasta (whatever work for you, we used something spirally)

8oz cheddar, grated (more or less, if you like lots or a little)

12oz bag of frozen broccoli (I like to rinse it first, so it’s not so watery once it defrosts a bit, but whatevs)

1can condensed milk (creepy, yes, but it works, and make sure it’s not evaporated)

1cup whole milk (would likely work with 2%, but I had whole on hand)

6oz light cream cheese

(I didn’t, but I’m guessing spraying the crockpot with Pam, or a good swiping of olive oil might keep it from sticking a lot)

Precook the pasta in boiling water for 4-5 minutes.* Dump everything but the cream cheese in the crock pot. Cook it for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally. Add the cream cheese when it’s got about 15 minutes left. Stir that in, and voila. No joke. It’s that easy. And yes, it was that good. I suspect the cream cheese has something to do with it. You could probably even add some BACON here at the end, if you want. We added shredded chicken leftover from another dinner. You could also probably add some hot sauce, bread crumbs, chili powder, or something like that to make it a little more grown up. Or just take it for the comfort food it is.

The big kid tolerated it (if it doesn’t come in a blue box, it’s apparently not “real” mac and cheese). The baby gobbled it. And Michael and I quite enjoyed it.

Let me know what you think, and if you have any variations on it!!

**Note: It seems that using FRESH broccoli (and probably NO VEGGIES) requires a bit of precooking, about 4-5 minutes, on the noodles. I did this, and my noodles were total mush, which is why I didn’t say to do it above. But I know that frozen broccoli seems to hold a lot of water, so it could be the reason. I’m going to try this again next week and experiment a bit, probably without veggies, since Ryan said she’d eat it without. Booger.

***Apparently, the precooking is quite important. Please precook your pasta. 😉

7 thoughts on “CrockPot Mac and Cheese

  1. What is it with the blue box stuff? Same here. Not “my kind of Mac and Cheese” if it isn’t out of the certain blue box.
    Sounds good!

  2. Hey Katy! I whipped this up for dinner tonight, and it did not turn out at all! I had crockpot full of big, gluey mess. 😦 The only thing I varied from your recipe was to use fresh broccoli. And after about an hour and half of stirring occasionally I ended up adding another cup or two of milk because it seemed like my pasta had absorbed all the liquid in there. You didn’t pre-cook the pasta, did you? Bummer! We were all so excited! I’ve heard people have varying success with Mac and Cheese in the crock. Could be mine just cooks to hot, even on low…. Sad! Thanks for the great idea though!

    • Ack!! Super sad! I’m sorry! And the funny thing is that yes, I did precook the noodle for a few minutes, but they turned to mush, so I figured that not cooking them would be OK. But I’m guessing that by using fresh broccoli AND not precooking, they didn’t quite work out. I’ll add a note in the post…and I’ll try it again next week just to see what’s what.

  3. Kathy,

    I also tried this one tonight. I did not have broccoli so I used peas. I think your recipe had cooked the noodles before hand. I had to add a ton of liquid. It did not turn out great. I am going to give it another shot but with the pasta al-dente.

    -Sam

      • Again, I’m super sorry you had a globby, cheesy mess…I’m going to edit to suggest cooking the pasta for sure. Guess that was a more important step than I guessed! Sorry L is sick! Hope she’s better soon.

Leave a Reply

