{joy of love} day four

What She Wears

She wears headbands, and lots of them. Several a day. They’re all over the house, my car, her backpack…it’s kind of funny if not totally annoying. She also wears crazy stuff together, like her cherry dress with her heart leggings because, “the leggings have red hearts and the dress has a red top and red cherries so they match”. Um, sure. And her great-great-grandmother’s apron. Who knew it’d still be around, and that she’d love the yellow one so much. I love having these little bits of family heritage around here. It makes it cozy.

Today was also daddy’s birthday…he’s 30-something officially. Per Ryan’s directive, we made him a breakfast for dinner feast, complete with pancakes with whipped cream and blueberries “just like in the Curious George book”. He loved it.

We finished off with a lemon pound cake that Ryan frosted and decorated herself. Her independence the last few days is amazing. All of a sudden, her mindset has switched from “I can’t do it alone” to “of course I can, and I will, watch!”. Maybe it has something to do with registering for Kindergarten, or turning 5, or who knows what. Yes, I said registering for Kindy…I slipped that in there, huh? I suppose I should have taken photos, and for certain I was composing them in my mind, wishing I’d grabbed my camera, but I didn’t. It’s OK…she was overwhelmed enough as it were, without my big camera in her face.

But yep, she’s all set to head off to Kindy in the fall, and take the bus there, and take the bus home and ohmygosh, didn’t I just give birth to her yesterday? For those wondering, yes, I held it together. Mostly. I choked back a few tears looking down the hallway at all the even bigger classrooms (one this at a time, mama). I choked back a few tears looking at the writing the kindergarten children were working on. I choked back tears at the much more sophisticated artwork the big kids were doing. But the important this is that I didn’t break out in tears. I held it together. For now. Talk to me on the first day of school as I stealthily follow the bus to school to watch her walk into her classroom.

2 thoughts on “{joy of love} day four

  1. LOVE THIS! So sweet! My little ballerina is the exact same way about clothes…and headbands. She puts together the wildest outfits and she’s always got a headband here, there and everywhere.

    Did you make the felt flower headband? My girl would LOVE that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

