I heart running.

I never thought I’d utter those words. Never. There are a lot of things in life, and a lot of things I’m capable of, but I never believed that running was one of them. I’ve always liked the idea of it, but didn’t think I could.

About 8 weeks ago, I signed up for a Running Club through my local Stroller Strides group. I thought that, since we’d start out slow, and I’d be with friends, that this would finally be my ticket to running. I won’t say it’s been easy. The day before running club started we found out we were expecting our third baby (now affectionately referred to as “tres”), and of course I worried about it being a good idea. A quick pep talk from my coach, Hilary, confirmed that I would be fine, I’d been running at Stroller Strides for months and we start so slow it’s not a big deal.

That first day, when we were running 60 seconds at a shot, and I was dying. I didn’t believe that I’d make it to that 10k in May. I didn’t even sign up for it. I really wasn’t sure I could do it. Running is 90% mental, and only 10% physical. Your body will do what your mind tells it to. And that first day, I was scared. I didn’t think my body would ever cooperate with my mind.

Fast forward to tonight. Running 2.5 miles straight. We did it on Saturday, but I bonked hard. I walked more than I wanted to, and I let my mind lead the way. No good. Tonight I went into this run believing I could. At the first sign my brain started to take control and tell me I couldn’t do it, that I should stop and walk for a minute, that that was OK, I turned up the music and ignored myself. I CAN do this. I WANT to do this. I WILL do this. I WILL run 2.5 miles tonight. And my feet hit that pavement, and found a stride I could keep up with, over and over again. I found songs that worked, that motivated me to keep going, and I kept that volume high, so I couldn’t hear myself say it was OK to stop. It’s NOT ok to stop.

Today was the day I was going to run 2.5 miles.

And I did.

And I did it 11 weeks pregnant.

I think I can now officially describe myself as a runner, and I couldn’t be more proud.

2 thoughts on “I heart running.

  1. i’m proud of you, too! i’ve wanted to run for EVER, but have been afraid and full of excuses. i started the couch to 5k about 6 months ago, and loved it, but got so busy i allowed myself to quit. now in this pregnancy, i’ve been told not to, but i love hearing your motivation and intend to begin as soon as this little one pops out 🙂 no more excuses! cheers!

Leave a Reply

