Hindsight is 20/20

(alternately titled: “If I knew then what I know now”)

You see all of those trite quotes all over the interwebs saying things like “dishes can wait, babies don’t keep” and “they grow up before your eyes” and la la la. And you think, no, the dishes are going to drive me insane, or that laundry just won’t fold itself, and the baby can just be there for a minute.

But if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last 6 years, is that you lay that baby down for “just a minute” and then she’s off to kindergarten. And reading on her own. And enjoying a very wiggly tooth.

Or you set her down and she climbs to the top of the [insert tall item in your house here]. And she insists on “my do it”. And then she asks politely for a snack. And would you please read Brown Bear, Brown Bear.

Or you set her down, and suddenly she’s a month old, and trying to smile (and making all kinds of awesome expressions in her early attempts). And trying to push up on her arms. And weighing 10 pounds.

And I know, this time, just how fast it will go. And I didn’t honestly think I’d care, and I do find myself looking very much forward to a time when she’ll be able to coo, smile, sit up, play with her sisters, sleep through the night, etc. Because I know IT WILL HAPPEN.

And I have to remind myself to let her be. To let them all be. To let them all grow as they must, and not rush them at all. And that’s hard. But having already seen two of them grow and change SO FAST, this time I know the growing is inevitable, and obviously a good thing, but I know to enjoy what we have while we have it.

Maybe it’s because Asher is the last (oh yes, she’s it. swear.). Maybe it’s because I’m watching one kid learn to read, one kid learn to speak, and another learn to smile. And I’m just trying to enjoy the ride.

 

Leave a Reply

